1. Sports
Steve Cave

4th Annual Skateboarding Hall of Fame Inductees

By March 16, 2013

Follow me on:

Created in 2009, The Skateboarding Hall of Fame recognizes and honors the history of skateboarding and those influential figures who have significantly shaped skateboarding and our culture throughout the years. The International Association of Skateboard Companies (IASC) and the International Skateboarding Hall of Fame (ISHOF) are proud to announce this year's Skateboarding Hall of Fame inductees: Woody Woodward (1960s), Tom Sims (1970s, Era One), Alan "Ollie" Gelfand (1970s, Era Two), Rodney Mullen (1980s, Era One), Christian Hosoi (1980s, Era Two), and two women - Wendy Bearer Bull (1960s) and Laura Thornhill Caswell (1970s). This year's Icon Award recipients are pioneering skateboard photographer Warren Bolster, who revived Skateboarder Magazine in the 1970s; NHS and the crew who built it into what it is today - Richard Novak, Jay Shuirman, Bob Denike, Tim Piumarta and Jeff Kendall - and Devo, a band with the non-conformist attitude that has been inspiring skateboarders since the 1970s.

This year's awards ceremony is open to the public and will be held during the IASC Summit from 6 p.m. to 10 p.m. May 9th, 2013 at the Sheraton Park Hotel in Anaheim, Calif. Early bird sales will be extended until March 26th. Tickets are available online.


No comments yet. Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.